Dental X-Rays Show Jaw/Teeth changes

Dental XRays of my Acromegaly

Dental XRays of my Acromegaly

(I have added red and blue lines to the x-rays to show the predominant direction of each tooth on the lower jaw)

I went to the dentist last week, telling him that it seems that I have Acromeglay, and asked him to X-Ray my teeth. The last X-ray was taken five years ago. I am suffering from overbite (I think – my bottom teeth are a bit in front of my upper teeth), so biting things isn’t quite as easy as it used to be.

He took an X-Ray, and there was nothing obvious to see on the computer screen from the one taken five years ago. He was very helpful, and said he would refer me to the Dental Hospital in Manchester. I asked him if I could have a copy of my X-Rays of 2003 and 2008, and he very kindly said he would.

This evening a little envelope dropped onto our doormat, and in it was a little note from my dentist, and a CD with the two X-Ray images. What a lovely chap! At first glance there is no obvious difference. On very careful examination some things start coming to light. My lower jaw has grown a bit, and the roots of my lower teeth have started growing apart. The tops of the lower teeth have grown apart only a little. The net affect is that the angle of my lower teeth has increased from the vertical.

In a strange way. I’m really quite excited that I’ve spotted the changes on an X-ray! The more I understand about the condition, the less I feel it’s ‘beaten’ me.

