Can alcohol suppress Acromegaly?

I’ve been doing a bit of online research (that’s a posh name for “Googling”!) to see if there is anything dietary or otherwise that would limit the impact of Acromegaly.

I’ve being going along the lines of what would stunt the growth of a growing child. I remember that smoking causes stunted growth, and so does drinking under age. I’ve not been too sure if both of these are “old wives tales” to stop children smoking and drinking, so I thought I’d look them up.

Well, interesting results. Not terribly sure if I fully understand the mechanisms, but yes it does appear that alcohol consumption (Google for: Ethanol IGF-1 IGFBP-1) does reduce IGF-1’s bioavailability (in other words it’s effect) according to some studies (that’s if I’ve read it correctly – surely I’ve not). Double the “drink-drive” limit could suppress the effects of IGF-1 for up to 24 hours.

http://www.isbra2006.com/abstract/26.htm

http://cat.inist.fr/?aModele=afficheN&cpsidt=1339648

http://www.ars.usda.gov/research/publications/Publications.htm?seq_no_115=158401

Please don’t take my word for it, and especially don’t take this as advice to drink! The beneficial effects of alcohol no doubt are swamped by its negative effects, physically, mentally and socially. The last link, in particular draws the increased risk of breast cancer in pre-menopausal women with alcohol use and IGF-1.

It does also make one wonder how many chronic alcoholics that may escape the detection of acromegaly.

Cheers!

