First Visit to Christies

It was my first visit to Christies today, to visit the Endocrine department as an outpatient.

The Christie

The Christie

Tropical Fishtank

Tropical Fishtank

Starbucks at Christies!

Starbucks at Christies!

I was really impressed with the whole set up at Christies. Naturally, a lot of the patients who go to Christies Hospital are there due to cancer. The hospital is laid out to be as welcoming as possible, and they seem to have struck a great balance.

In the reception is the Cafe (serving great Starbucks coffee and a selection of sandwiches, chibattas, snacks and cakes), a little shop selling newspapers, gifts and cards, with a cash-point machine outside, and even a little hairdressers.

The Endocrine unit is right above the reception entrance, so we took the stairs and got straight up there. We were give a very warm welcome by the registrar doctor, and he took his time and took down all the details he was after. This blog came in useful when I had to check a detail for him! He also asked about any family illnesses, so he drew out a family tree with some of the details on. He took my blood pressure, listened to my heart, my chest and then squeezed about with my lower abdomen. I had baked beans for breakfast (on toast), thankfully they didn’t let themselves known! He explained things well, and had a very gentle manner.

We were then introduced to the Acromegaly Nurse. Wow – she was absolutely brilliant, she went through everything with us. We didn’t feel rushed in any way – she was so straight-forward and clear in everything she told us. Despite how optimistic I already was, my wife and I were ten times more optimistic. The position of this nurse is unique in the United Kingdom – her job is to work with the acromegaly treatment with all the acromegalics referred to Christies. It’s her full time job, and she’s incredibly knowledgeable and good at it. As this blog is “public”, it’s unfair of me to name her as much as I’d like to. Those who have met her will know exactly who I mean!

We had so many questions, and got so many more answers! I feel already that treatment is only just around the corner. Phew! We went home very happy indeed.

