Echocardiogram – it’s a boy!

I had an “Echocardiogram” today at Wythenshawe Hospital. An “Echocardiogram” is not some sort of stripper that you’d might club together with your workmates to hire for your boss to embarrass him on his retirement do (whilst rekindling his fond memories of youth, hopefully of his wife).  Rather, it’s an examination of the heart using ultrasound – in the same way as an expectant mother’s baby is checked with ultrasound. That’s got me thinking now, if it was a kind of stripper then it would have to be one that wears a cardie that has to repeat everything – I suppose it could well be the bosses own wife in that case! He’d better watch his step.

Where was I? Oh, yes. The unit a really new hi-tech part of the hospital, decorated on its walls with images of the hospital in bygone days. Some of the photos are quite fascinating. An echocardiogram is

Anyhow the echocardiogram involved me being greeted my a technician, and I was asked to remove my shirt. I then had to lay on a bed. She put a clear gel on my chest over my heart area, and put four stick-on electrodes on me. I then had to roll onto my left side, while she leant over from my right with the probe and pressed it against my chest.

It's big and green, and very high-tech. It's the North West Heart Centre in Wythenshawe. A great place for happier hearts.

It's big and green, and very high-tech. It's the North West Heart Centre in Wythenshawe. A great place for happier hearts.

The machine she used was like an oversized chunky laptop with a big screen. Every now and again I could hear my heartbeat from the machine. She changed the position of the probe a bit, then finally put the probe near the top of my stomach, at the bottom of the ribcage.

It was probably over in about 15 minutes. I asked if everything was OK, but she said she wasn’t allowed to tell me, and that I’d be told by the doctor that referred me of the results. She then told me me that there was nothing out of the ordinary. My left ventricle was a little thickened, but that was in keeping with me having high blood pressure. (Left Ventricle Hypertrophy is a symptom of acromegaly though, but is generally reversible with treatment).

I was left to wipe the gel off and to leave when I was ready and dressed. That was easy, and quite fun!

