Wow, haven’t you got big hands?

I’d been wrestling with a rubber stamp at work today trying to change the date on it. It’s so impossible to change the date without being covered in ink. The rubber stamp won the wrestle (as it always does) and covered my fingers with blue ink. So off to the works kitchen I went to try and scrub it off with a scouring pad.

These were my hands (all two of them) before I started any treatment. My wedding ring is size "Z+".

These were my hands (all two of them) before I started any treatment. My wedding ring is size "Z+".

As I was scrubbing, washing away the defeat of my battle with the afore-mentioned vulcanized office implement, a chap behind me remarked, “Wow, haven’t you got big hands?!”. I was quite taken aback, I was quite off guard. I smiled and said, “Ah, well you see I have a tumour on my pituitary gland, in the middle of my head, which is giving out growth hormone. One of the effects it has is that it makes my hands and feet bigger amongst other things.”.

I then watched him as the cogs whirred around in his head for a moment. I was expectant for a significant response, I waited for a moment. His eyes darted in an up-and-down motion, when he asked, “So, apart from your hands and your feet, does it make anything else bigger?”. I smiled, grabbed my coffee and strolled out.

A few minutes later, when I could contain myself from laughing, I went back over to see him and explained all “things acromegaly” until he’d wished he’d never asked. I must admit, I did feel a bit of a “freak” today after his comment, but took it on the chin (you know, the one that’s growing forward…) 🙂

