First Aid for Acromegaly?

We’ve recently moved offices at work – only by a few yards. Some of our colleagues are in the original office.

Some months back, I told the lady who looked after Health & Safety that I had a condition known as Acromegaly, and that I’d be injecting myself three times a day for two weeks. I thought I’d tell her just in case something happened. I gave her some contact numbers (the endocrine unit at hospital) and the name of the drug I was on (octreotide).

Since then, I’ve just been on a monthly drug (Sandostatin LAR) given to be by a nurse who sees my bum cheek every month. Lucky her.

Anyhow, one of the first aiders came to me on Tuesday asking what time I’d be going home on Friday. I told them, about three o’clock. It turned out that because we had moved offices they were moving one of the first aiders over from the other office to make sure they had first aid cover for me!  Around two hours later, another chap came up to me to let me know that the first aider would be this other chap on Friday… and then today (Friday) this “new” first aider from the other office came up to me and said “Hi, I’m the First Aider for today!”.

Blimey! I feel a complete freak today! I wish in a way that I hadn’t told them those months back that I had the condition, but I know they are only trying to do their best.

I’d better make sure I don’t get a paper cut today, or stump my toe or anything… 🙂

