Another year – IGF-1 still fine

In my latest blood test results (May 2016), my IGF-1 still remains normal – which is wonderful! So I’m still in remission of acromegaly, six years after my operation.

Hopefully this will be of encouragement to you if you have been diagnosed with acromegaly with a macroadenoma tumour on the pituitary gland. The majority of people diagnosed with acromegaly do get remission with just surgery alone. Of the people who don’t, the majority of them then also gain remission (biochemically), by medical treatment. The key is diagnosis so that it can be treated. The earlier a diagnosis is made the better.

So even though the diagnosis of acromegaly all those years ago felt truly shattering at the time, I’m thankful that I was diagnosed rather than the condition being missed.

 

 

